The Building Division performs plan review and inspections on new residential and commercial properties. Residential permits are required for any new home, as well as for decks, sheds, pools, basement finishes, additions and major alterations. Residential rental occupancy permits are required before occupying the unit. Commercial permits are required for any new commercial project including alterations or additions. This division is also responsible for the planning and implementation of the City’s adopted building codes and ordinances.

Apply for a permit      Account Login

The division is located on the second floor of O'Fallon Municipal Centre (City Hall), 100 North Main Street.

Scheduling an inspection can be completed by logging into the CitizenServe portal using the button above. Inspections scheduled using the portal are typically completed the next day. Rental occupancy inspections may require two (2) day’s notice prior to an inspection being conducted depending on when the request is received. Questions may be directed to 636-379-5660.

    1. Do you need a permit?:  Please refer to the next tab to see if your project requires a permit.
    2. Submittal requirements:  Each permit type has different submittal requirements. Understand what you'll need to provide to get started with our guides.
    3. Register on our online portal:  Once registered you can apply for permits, see the review status, schedule inspections and more. Register for a free account.
    4. Apply for a permit:  Once you've gathered everything needed for your application and registered on our portal, you can apply and pay your permit application fees.

    Apply for a Permit

  • A permit is required for projects such as new construction, additions, remodels and repairs to electrical, mechanical and plumbing systems. Projects that require a permit include:

    • Small Projects:  Fences, Decks / Porches / Sunrooms, Patio Covers / Pergolas, Sheds, Pools and Hot Tubs, Retaining Walls, Water heaters, HVAC Replacement
    • Alterations / Additions:  Room Additions, Basement Finishes, Fire / Wind / Impact Damage, Structural Modifications, Altering, replacing or relocating systems
    • New Construction / Use:  New buildings, Change of Use, Garages, Alterations, Grading / Land Disturbance
    • Miscellaneous Projects:  Temporary Structures, Dumpsters, Driveways, Solar Panels, Demolition, Signs
    • Temporary signs: Freestanding – Banners- Specialty display – Project identification - Annual
    • Permanent signs: Wall – Freestanding – Multi-Tenant – Interchange
    • Weekend directional

    Apply for a Permit

    • Manage your Projects
    • Pay Fees
    • Submit documents
    • Schedule an inspection
    • Review Progress

    Account Login


Current Codes and Adoptive Ordinances
Other resources
Fire Districts

Please note:  The City of O'Fallon is served by multiple independent fire districts that are separate governmental entities and do not fall under the authority of the City of O'Fallon. These districts may require their own building permit. Please contact the appropriate district for more information. The districts are:


Contact Building staff

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the Building Division's main telephone line at 636-379-5660. You may also contact the employees below directly. For commercial building questions, please contact Nathan Lacey. For residential building questions, please contact Scott Dabney.

Chris Gaw, Building and Code Enforcement Manager cgaw@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5432
Nathan Lacey, Building Official nlacey@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5597
Scott Dabney, Residential Plans Examiner sdabney@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5564
Debbie Cammann, Administrative Assistant dcammann@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5599
Cortney Hallemeier, Building Permit Technician challemeier@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5495
Nick Beelek, Residential Building Inspector nbeelek@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5594
Nick Funke, Commercial Residential Building Inspector nfunke@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5598
Joe Garner, Residential Building Inspector jgarner@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-4122
Sean Fuszner, Residential Building Inspector sfuszner@ofallon.mo.us 636-379-5552